Clare 2021 Tournament, 4th to 7th November 2021

A total of 76 adults and 4 children, including up to 59 golfers, attended the 2021 Clare weekend. The weather was near perfect for most of the weekend.  A wild storm swept through on Saturday afternoon – we were lucky to be back at the hotel by then so missed that.  It was good to see some new sponsors and new members attend.  This was our third outing to Clare for our end of year tournament – it will be our 40th year next year. 

Both the Clare Golf Club and the Clare Country Club were great hosts with plenty of food and drink available for everyone. The relatively hilly course is picturesque and quite challenging, however a fun time was had by all. The greens were generally in very good condition and improved over the weekend.

Our SAOGA sponsors provided teams in the Friday Ambrose competition with a total of 15 teams entered – probably our best-ever turn-out. It was a great day with good feedback from our generous sponsors. Well done to Tony Carter, Frank Sampson, Kevin Turnbull and Sandy Turnbull for winning the Presidents Cup and to Travis Reardon and the Prochem team for winning the Sponsor’s Cup (second year in a row).

There were many Covid-related challenges this year with some uncertainty regarding our budget and sponsorship. Great work by the Committee in bringing it together.  Also for the catering efforts by the Clare Country Club on Friday and Saturday evenings as well as to Steve for providing the excellent Pizza lunch after golf on Saturday. 

Thanks to Bruce Clark and Andrew Hudson for hosting an excellent BBQ on Sunday night.

Here is a summary of the results:

Thursday / Friday Winners:
JFK Cup (Thursday Stoke): 1st = Benn Cox, 2nd = Frank Sampson, 3rd = Jai Brown.
Presidents Cup (Friday Ambrose, 1st) =  Tony Carter, Frank Sampson, Kevin Turnbull, Sandy Turnbull.
Sponsors Cup (Friday Ambrose, 1st) =  Prochem Team (Travis Reardon, Stewart Campbell, Anthony Huddy, Tony Steward).
Saturday / Sunday Winners:
Bardrill Cup (Ladies Stableford): 1st = Helen Janetzki, 2nd = Vera Mortimer.
Stealth Tools Cup (Best Stableford – Sat & Sun): 1st = Benn Cox, 2nd = Kris Rodrigues, 3rd = Stu Thomson
Cavpower Cup (Most Consistent Golfer): Helen Janetzki
Ensign / OD&E Trophy (Best Stableford – Sat): 1st = Samuel Garrick, 2nd = Jai Brown
SAOGA Cup (Best Stableford – Sun): 1st = Mark Duerden, 2nd = Graeme Wheare
OICS Cup (Best Scratch): 1st = Jamie Trezise, 2nd = James Lunnay
Santos Cup (Eclectic): 1st = Lyndon Prior, 2nd = Steve Moss
RD Koch Trophy (Most Improved): 1st = Dave Crimmins, 2nd = Kevin Turnbull
NAGA = Glenn Wilkin
Halliburton Cup (Calloway): 1st = Sandy Turnbull, 2nd = Kathy Cunynghame, 3rd = Steph Thomson
SAOGA Club Championship:
A Grade: 1st = Stu Thomson, 2nd = Al Macdonald
B Grade: 1st = Mark Duerden, 2nd = Tony Harrison
C Grade: 1st = Liza Wedge, 2nd = Vera Mortimer

In addition to all of the above trophy winners, 64 prize vouchers were won by 52 different players for various Nearest the Pin, Long Drive and Novelty Hole prowess displayed during the Friday, Saturday and Sunday games. The Novelty Hole competitions during the Ambrose game on Friday, comprising a “Straight Drive”, a “Target Drive” and a “Long Drive with a Practice Ball”, were again added for a bit of extra fun on this light-hearted day.

Again, many thanks to our generous sponsors who make the weekend possible. Also, thank you to all who donated (and re-submitted) prizes for the raffle on Saturday night.

Mark Duerden, SAOGA President

Scroll to top