SAOGA Renmark Championship Tournament – 1st through 4th November 2018

51 adults and 7 children, incorporating 40 golfers, attended the 2018 Renmark weekend. Weather was hot for most of the 4 days with a little breeze at times. It was good to see some of our new sponsors and also new members attend.
The Renmark CC was a good host yet again with plenty of food and drink available for everyone. The course was in very good condition with the green keeper presenting challenging pins.
Our SAOGA sponsors provided teams in the Friday competition with a total of 9 teams entered. It was a great day with good feedback from our generous sponsors. Well done to Steve Moss and the Trymoss team winning the Sponsors Trophy and the James Lunnay, Len Dewsnap, Mark Mancini & Dave Crimmins winning the Presidents Cup.
The state of the O&G industry has shown some upturn recently and still presented a challenge with raising adequate sponsorship – but still enabling us to put together an enjoyable tournament – it worked out well. Everybody had a great time with good weather and golf. However, great scores were hard to find this year.

Here is a summary of the results:

Thursday / Friday Winners:
• JFK Cup (Thursday Stoke) – 1st – A Dewar (72), 2nd – T Williams, 3rd – T Carter
• Presidents Cup (Friday Ambrose) – Winning team – J Lunnay, L Dewsnap, M Mancini & D Crimmins.
• Sponsors Cup (Friday Ambrose) – Trymoss Team – S Moss, P Serpo, C Palmer & M Moss.

Saturday / Sunday winners:
• Bardrill Cup (Ladies Stableford) – 1st – V Mortimer, 2nd – C Kernahan
• Stealth Tools Cup (Best Stableford – Sat/Sun) – 1st – M Henderson, 2nd – S Healey, 3rd – A Dewar
• Cavpower Cup (Most consistent) – J Stobie
• Ensign Trophy (Best Stableford – Sat) – 1st – S Thomson, 2nd – F Sampson
• SAOGA Cup (Best Stableford – Sun) – 1st – M Duerden, 2nd – J Lunnay
• OICS Cup (Best Scratch) – 1st – J Trezise, 2nd – T Carter
• Santos Cup (Eclectic) – 1st – S Moss, 2nd – C Belshaw
• RD Koch Trophy (Most Improved) – 1st – A Hudson, 2nd – D Ellis
• NAGA – C Kernahan
• Halliburton Cup (Calloway) – 1st – J Bray , 2nd – J McDonald

SAOGA Club Championship:
• A Grade – 1st – P Chalk, 2nd – J Lunnay
• B Grade – Equal 1st – M Mancini, A MacDonald
• C Grade – 1st – G Davies, 2nd – B Troughbridge

Again, many thanks to our generous sponsors who make the weekend possible. Also, thank you to all who donated prizes for the raffle on Saturday night.

Scroll to top